BB&T BANK RATINGS

  • Bank Name:BB&T Bank
  • Locations:1914 Branches in 16 states
3.2 / 5
  • Rating 3.17/

BB&T Bank has an overall customer satisfaction rating of 3.2 out of 5 stars based on 168 votes and 35 reviews & complaints for 1914 branches. Below you can read unbiased reviews, complaints and comments for branches or the bank in general. You can also share your own toughts and complaints about BB&T Bank using the form below.

BB&T BANK REVIEWS & COMPLAINTS

Terry Wommer · 3 July 2019
★★★ Branch review: Sunnybrook Branch

Branch closed April 2019.

Linda Altizer · 11 June 2019
★★★★★ Branch review: Hagerstown Branch

I love BB&T

Deb Sartelle Blondin · 6 June 2019
★★★★★ Branch review: Trenton Branch

My husband and I love the Trenton, NC branch of BB&T. We moved from Vermont and set up our banking and checking with BB&T, Trenton due to a recommendation from a friend who has their account there. We love this bank. Eventhough we live in Kinston on the Lenoir/Jones County line, we love to go to the Trenton branch. The staff and Dee Meadows deliver efficient, professional service. You get the feel of a real hometown bank. Everyone is friendly, patient and they make certain to understand and resolve any issues.

Regina Cherry · 7 February 2019
Branch review: Tarboro Branch

I strongly recommend that you do not get an account at this branch or do business with BB&T in this area because they are becoming less caring about their customers and slack on the job. I had been with them 10 years and have experienced several encounters in which each time I had to go to a higher level to get some positive results. I have had a teller in 2012 to steal $400.00 from the window and they did absolutely nothing about it. I recently had fees that were supposed to be sent in as a claim to be waived due to loss of income due to storm and I never heard back until I called back in after receiving a letter threatening to closed the account within 20days which would be 1/23/19 if a deposit was not made to bring it current. I called the bank on 1/21/19 to discuss what happened with my request in November that I made regarding the fees so I can make my deposits, and to avoid excessive fees. The rep stated that she see where I made a request but the rep did not make the claim but she will do it for me. She came up with a claim amount and told me what the new balance would be but to go ahead and make a deposit today so that my account would not close while the fraud department work on it. So I did exactly that. I made a $1,500 deposit and the bank made an error and made the deposit for $150 causing my account to close. When I made them aware of the problem, the local rep told me that she would forward the matter to CBOS branch mgr. She also asked me if anything was out that I need for them to force pay and I said yes because I had just written a check for 2000. I asked should I just get the money out to cover the check because I do not want my husband to have an overdrawn fee to cover the ck and she said no leave it and I said are you sure bc I do not want to mess up his account. She said they can do force payment since you have money in your other accounts. I said ok but I know how BB&T say one thing and do another. But giving the benefit of doubt, I took her advice and called her the next day to see if they were going to force pay. She still had no answer. I began to call several times leaving messages and received no return call then I discovered that they returned the check that I had written without notifying me and to top that off I had went back to the branch to get an update and the rep still stated that she had not heard anything back on them reopening my account. So another week went by and I'm still not getting return phone calls after leaving messages. I went inside the branch twice since the last conversation and each time I was not provided any status on the bank fixing the huge mistake that they made and reopening my account. So Tuesday I called the toll free customer svc to get an update and from the info and based on the conversation that I had with customer svc, it did not look good. She said that the fraud department rejected the the claim to waive the fees, maybe bc the account is close. She informed me to go back to the branch and talked with them I told her that I have been calling and been but they should have told me something or fixed the problem by now so that I can start receiving money in that account for my business because it's urgent that they fixed they mistake. So I went inside there today to talk with someone other than the rep who would not return phone calls. As I was talking with another rep to have her to print up the deposit slip and check that was recorded incorrectly, that's when the rep that was supposed to be returning my call stuck her head in the room with us and told me that they declined reopening my account but will be glad to open up a new account for me. I said "NO MA"AM!!!!" I have just bought new checks and a binder and waiting on y'all to fix your mistake. Who made the decision and why tell me now. She said I am not allow to give out the names but it was CBOS and Regional Branch Operation. I said why? Her response was bc it was overdrawn so long. I told her that I have explained to you and BB&t several times why and it was your negligence bc of me waiting on you to do your job and correct problems to customer satisfaction. I said I did what I was supposed to have done and followed BB&T advice. Following their advice and trusting them on an issue since November has led to employees not working causing more harm and damage to the customer. This is an overwhelming blow and I can hardly function at work bc they have mistreated me and do not appreciate the years of loyalty that I have giving them with all those fees and money that they have made off me.They had a chance to fix the problem and did not bc they are all for self and Branch Branking need to live up to a high standard of Trust for its customers or take Trust out of their name. I know this is a long msg but I don't want you to go through what I just went through with your bank. BB&T need to do the right thing and fix this mess they put me in and reopen my account ASAP!.

From my recent experience, BB&T is not living up to its highest standards of customrer satisfaction by letting long time customers accounts closed due to their error without fixing their mistake and not returning phonecalls

Jenniffer Reece · 14 January 2019
Branch review: Bridesburg Branch

went there today and they have closed up shop.

Pat Barrett Weaver · 8 January 2019
★★ Branch review: Mount Carmel Branch

I'm paying $142 monthly on a home equity loan and $24 goes on the principal. and I will be 80 on my next birthday. I won\'t be alive and can lose my home. Why is the interest so high?

Taylor Hayden · 4 January 2019
Branch review: Macon Riverside Branch

Worst bank EVER. The people are rude, they don't care about you, they give an attitude EVERY time I go inside the bank. They keep cutting off my card for no apparent reason & it's been three months since I've ordered a replacement card and I still haven't got it in. Do not go to this bank, the customer service representatives will completely ruin your experience. I've been with BB&T for 7 years now, but I'm canceling it today.

Viola Carey · 15 December 2018
★★ Branch review: Viewmont Branch

This BB&T had my car towed off!! The snow plows that you guys hired pushed all the snow right in front of my house in a huge pile blocking in my daughters car and I had no place to park but at your bank until the snow melted! Thanks so much for being a good neighbor!! That's $200 to get my car out of pound!!!! 🙁 Sad!!

Jane Robison · 30 November 2018
★★★★★ Branch review: Sunset Beach Branch

My thanks to Mr. Rob Sitton, who has helped me reconcile my accounts when I've been lazy... which happens too often. Always cheerful, always efficient. Jane Robison

Scott Goetz · 16 November 2018
★★ Branch review: Douglassville Branch

Every phone number I found for the Douglassville branch either has been disconnected or not working. Very frustrating..

Sue Crouch Murphy · 14 November 2018
★★★★★ Branch review: 19th & Madison Branch

The Staff at this Branch is an asset to your company. They are knowledgeable of your services and the most friendly customer service anyone could ask for. They make my day much brighter when I go there. I hope your company realizes how great this staff is and they all seem to love their jobs. The Manager is very welcoming when I go in and the Tellers always call me by name. That means a lot when they know you.

Ted Marks · 8 October 2018
Branch review: Mc Connellsburg Branch

This is without a doubt the slowest bank I ever delt with, deposit cash wait 5 days to use it

Ann Pearce · 19 September 2018
Branch review: Raleigh Main Branch

Over 24 hours have gone by without contact from someone at BB&T who is experienced in working with accounts similar to mine.

Greg Mouser · 19 September 2018
Branch review: Bristol Main Branch

I have been a BB&T Customer for 3 yrs, going on 4 yrs now..and each time I get a new statement... seems to be some questionable charges and not sure what is really going on.. I would like to arrange a meeting at the bank with the local CEO' Main Branch Mgr... The Employees are very gracious and are very helpful and respectful... My main issue & Red Flag is the Excessive Fees that BB&T Adds on... . What is this new Constant Credit account that I am seeing on my statements since the end of July 2018 ? When my main source of back up retirement money savings have dried up... When I used to live in West Virginia... my Mom and Sister and I always had used BB&T but in 2010 or before, I left BB&T for similar over charges thru excessive fees If a certain amount of money was in checking and or savings beyond what normal month to month or daily expenses ate my account up...

Ann Pearce · 19 September 2018
Branch review: Raleigh Main Branch

I tried to get an appointment with the Raleigh downtown branch manager. I was given an appointment, but was then called while I was already in transit that my appointment was a mistake. I clearly stated that I need someone of authority and who is adequately informed to help with my account. I was told this could happen and that someone would contact me. In a few hours, my previously assigned banker contacted me about our needing to meet. I have not been impressed by the abilities of this person. I need someone else, please!

Harvey Dennenberg · 18 June 2018
Branch review: West Street Branch

We've lived in Annapolis for more than a year and my wife has used this branch before to cash checks from her home business. She is upset that there was no manager to speak with (supposedly on vacation) and they would not even look up her accout (she's been a client for more than 25 years). We will never use this branch again and will file a formal complaint with BB&T HQ in North Carolina! Disgusted that they treated a long time customer this way!

Mike McKaughn · 11 April 2018
★★★★ Branch review: Kernersville Main Branch

On March 23 I took out my descended parents ira They told me they would sent a check in about week. After two weeks and no check I went back to check on the status of the check I was told they may process the check the next day After another week and no check I went back to not to see why I haven't recieived a check by now. Instead of checking the status of my check a very rude woman said there was nothing they could do When I suggested they could write. me a check there she said couldnt and asked me if she needed to call. Security Nice customer service. All I wanted was the money I'm owed in a timely matter

Jeanie Martin · 6 April 2018
★★★★★ Branch review: Cross Lanes Branch

Wonderful staff at the Drive through ~~Always friendley and helpful~~

Karen Thompson · 24 March 2018
★★★★★ Branch review: Tower City Branch

Just wanted to take a moment to compliment the services provided by Tiffany at this branch of BB&T. She went above and beyond to provide services while their systems were down. Never a fun time for any business. She gathered all information manually, contacted me for additional information, and kept her cool through the whole cumbersome process. I am extremely pleased with her services and how she represented the company. Thanks for everything Tiffany..... Hope this message finds it's way to the Branch Manager and President of BB&T!

Ruth Donohue · 13 March 2018
★★★ Branch review: Jensen Beach Branch

Why was I charged a $72.00 overdraft fee when I have overdraft protection. The items to be paid were not scheduled to be paid until March 14th, at which time my Direct Deposit would cover them. Please advise... I am not a happy camper...

Richard Littlejohn · 27 February 2018
Branch review: Dothan Branch

So far with the recent outage they have yet fixed anything. the outage started Thur. it's is now Tues. confidence in this Bank is at an all-time low.

Loryane Drumheller · 13 February 2018
★★★★ Branch review: Tower City Branch

I really like the staff and the branch in Tower City. They have been most helpful with some complex issues i was having. They help me sort everything out and I am now exercising my financial accounts to maximize their usefulness. I have never had a bad experience at The Tower City Branch and I am very dismayed that they are closing. I wish someone would reconsider. The bottom line doesn't always take into consideration the people that actually patronize the branch. We now have to travel 5-7 miles to the nearest branch, over a mountain in one case. This is extremely critical for our older residents as many don't drive or have limited mobility. It is also quite an inconvenience for the rest of us!

Lisa Verica DiGiorgio · 2 February 2018
Branch review: Feasterville Trevose Branch

Please do NOT bank at this branch or deal with a manager name Jared! I am a fairly new customer to this bank and what I saw today at the Feasterville PA branch was utterly appalling! There was a young man in there with his young children trying to solve and figure out why his new account or bank card was on hold. He claimed he needed the money as he put cash in the bank yesterday and could now not access it. The manager Jared treated this man like a criminal and just sub human! Instead of calmly trying to help the customer, he told him that "He could release his funds, but he won't"! It went down hill from there. The young man was respectful and frustrated and trying to get his money, which is his choice, and this monster of a manager continued to berate him and even told him to leave or he would call the police. I WILL NEVER step back in this branch again, I have closed my account, and am a local business woman and will continue to tell as many of my customers and people in the community that I know, NOT to go to this awful place and deal with such a horrendous human being again. If I did not hear this all myself, I would never have believed it. Stay clear!

Reba Chambers · 6 November 2017
★★ Branch review: Clanton Branch

You have too many different web sites. I have looked thru just about every one. All I need to do is look at my checking account and it takes all day to find & I have not found it yet!!

Gail Cobile · 31 October 2017
★★★★★ Branch review: Cosner's Corner Branch

Many thanks to a fantastic group who reacted quickly to my request and saved me a lot of anguish. You're professionalism is above reproach.

View 10 More Comments

Easily submit your review, comment or complaint about BB&T Bank using your Facebook profile.

Whether you had an exceptional experience with BB&T Bank or the bank didn't meet your needs, please share your feedback, compliments, or complaints so that the bank can better serve you. Please do not include any sensitive data on this form such as credit card number, SSN, etc. For direct or private messages please use the offical website of BB&T Bank.

MOST POPULAR BRANCHES
1110 Corporate Boulevard, Lancaster, PA 17601
1800 Dual Highway, Suite 100, Hagerstown, MD 21740
653 State Route 93 Suite 5, Conyngham, PA 18219
316 North Main Street, Mercersburg, PA 17236
22940 Jefferson Boulevard, Smithsburg, MD 21783
NEW BRANCHES

No new branches were opened in the last 12 months...

SHARE ON SOCIAL MEDIA